People

GEG Group Members


To view individual home pages, please click on people’s photos or names.

Chair

Prof. Dr. Martin O. Saar
saarm@ethz.ch
Geothermal Energy and Geofluids Research
NO F 51.2
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 3465

Admin, IT & Technical Staff

dominique_ballarin_small
Dominique Ballarin Dolfin
(admin, IT)
ballarin@ethz.ch
+41 44 632 3465
NO F 53
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich

nils_picture_70x70
Nils Knornschild (Politechniker)
knnils@ethz.ch
+41 44 633 8951
NW B 86
Clausiusstrasse 25
CH-8092 Zurich

Senior Researchers (Oberassistenten)

pp_ebigbo_70x70
Dr. Anozie Ebigbo
ebigboa@ethz.ch
Subsurface multiphase flow and transport
NO F 57
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 0813

Dr. Xiang-Zhao Kong
xkong@ethz.ch
Flow and transport in subsurface
NO F 57
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 5586

allan_leal_70x70
Dr. Allan Leal
allanmo@ethz.ch
Numerical methods for geochemical and reactive transport modeling
NO F 57
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 44 633 2521

Dr. Xiaodong Ma
xiama@ethz.ch
Senior Research Assistant with the SCCER-SoE, associated with the GEG Group
NO F 27
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 44 633 8175

friedemann_picture_70x70
Dr. Friedemann Samrock
fsamrock@ethz.ch
Geothermal Exploration, Magnetotellurics
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 8903

Postdocs

Dr. Benjamin Adams
badams@ethz.ch
carbon-sequestration,
geothermal energy production
NO F 61
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 2751

daniel_vogler_70x70
Dr. Daniel Vogler
davogler@ethz.ch
Spallation Drilling,
Hydraulic Fracturing
NO F 61
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 2751

Master Students

Maria Cardenas Rivera
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Xiaoqing Chen
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Joan Delort
ETH Internship – Master student
Spring/Summer 2018

Marthe Faber
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Shiyi Li
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Isamu Naets
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Manos Pefkos
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Doctoral Students

mehrdad_orig-new_70x70
Mehrdad Ahkami
mahkami@ethz.ch
Fluid flow in porous media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

Ezekiel_picture_70x70
Justin Ezekiel
cezekiel@ethz.ch
CCUS and combined EGR-CPG systems
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Hoda Javanmard
jhoda@ethz.ch
starting February 1, 2018
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

anniina_picture_70x70
Anniina Kittilä
kanniina@ethz.ch
Groundwater flow in fracture-dominated media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

marina lima
Marina Lima
marina.lima@erdw.ethz.ch
Reactive transport in fracture-dominated porous media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

jin_ma_70x70
Jin Ma
majin@ethz.ch
Reactive transport in natural porous media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

edoardorossi_70x70
Edoardo Rossi
rossie@ethz.ch
Enhance deep geothermal energy exploitation
NO F 61
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 4710

philipp_shaedle_70x70-png
Philipp Schädle
philscha@ethz.ch
Reactive transport; fractured porous media, reservoir modeling
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

Name to be determined
To be hired spring/summer 2018
Fluid and solute transport in fractures and PIV-LIF

Name to be determined
To be hired spring/summer 2018
Precipitation/dissolution, reactive transport, scaling effects

Published position is closed.

Name to be determined
To be hired spring/summer 2018
Development of a new contact-less drilling method, Plasma-Pulse Geo Drilling (PPGD)

Assistants – Postgraduates

lousa_dambly
Luise Dambly
MSc Idea League
mdambly@ethz.ch
Transversely isotropic rocks
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

alex_hobe_70x70
Alex Hobé
ahobe@ethz.ch
Multiphysics modeling of geothermal reservoirs
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2910

louisa_rodriguez
Susymar Rodriguez
MSc Idea League
susymarr@ethz.ch
+41 44 632 2558
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich

Academic Guests

Ali Aminzadeh
amali@ethz.ch
NW F 86.2
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2885

Guodong Cui
cuig@ethz.ch
NO F 55
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

MSc Students

Maria Cardenas Rivera
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Xiaoqing Chen
IDEA LEAGUE Master Studen
Spring/Summer 2018

Joan Delort
ETH Internship Master student
Spring/Summer 2018

Marthe Faber
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Shiyi Li
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Isamu Naets
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Manos Pefkos
IDEA LEAGUE Master Student
Spring/Summer 2018

Former GEG Members and former Visitors

raphael_picture_70x70
Raphael Allstadt
Former assistant – postgraduate
raphaeal@ethz.ch
Master of Science (MSc)
Numerical modelling of two-phase flow in porous media

jeffrey_bielicki
Prof. Dr. Jeffrey M. Bielicki
Former visiting professor
bielicki.2@osu.edu
Assistant Professor
The Ohio State University
Energy and environmental systems
renewable energy

claudia_picture_70x70
Claudia Deuber
Former assistant – postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc)

raphael_picture_70x70
Faraz Habib
Former assistant – postgraduate

keith_picture_70x70
Dr. Keith Evans
Former senior assistant
kevans@ethz.ch
Scaling of stress variations in deep crystalline rock

alex_hobe_70x70
Niko Laaksonlaita
Former MSc student Idea League
MSc Idea League

dandan_li
Dandan Li
Former MSc student Idea League
MSc Idea League

nagasree_70x70
Dr. Nagasree Garapati
Former academic guest
ngarapat@mail.wvu.edu

neeraj_70x70
Neeraj Shah
Former assistant – postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc)


Former GEG Members and former Visitors

raphael_picture_70x70
Raphael Allstadt
raphaeal@ethz.ch
Master of Science (MSc)
Numerical modelling of two-phase flow in porous media
Former assistant – postgraduate

jeffrey_bielicki
Prof. Dr. Jeffrey M. Bielicki
bielicki.2@osu.edu
Assistant Professor
The Ohio State University
Energy and environmental systems
renewable energy
Former visiting professor

claudia_picture_70x70
Claudia Deuber
Master of Science (MSc)
Former assistant – postgraduate

raphael_picture_70x70
Faraz Habib
Former assistant – postgraduate

 
 
 

keith_picture_70x70
Dr. Keith Evans
kevans@ethz.ch
Scaling of stress variations in deep crystalline rock
Former senior research assistant

alex_hobe_70x70
Niko Laaksonlaita
MSc Idea League
nikol@ethz.ch
Former MSc student Idealeague

dandan_li
Dandan Li
MSc Idea League
lida@ethz.ch
Former MSc student Idealeague

nagasree_70x70
Dr. Nagasree Garapati
ngarapat@mail.wvu.edu
Research Assistant Professor
West Virginia University
Former PostDoc

neeraj_70x70
Neeraj Shah
Master of Science (MSc)
Former assistant – postgraduate