People

GEG Group Members


To view individual home pages, please click on people’s photos or names.

Chair

Prof. Dr. Martin O. Saar
saarm@ethz.ch
Geothermal Energy and Geofluids Research
NO F 51.2
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 3465

Admin, IT & Technical Staff

dominique_ballarin_small
Dominique Ballarin Dolfin
(admin, IT)
started 1.1.2015
ballarin@ethz.ch
+41 44 632 3465
NO F 53
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich

nils_picture_70x70
Nils Knornschild (Politechniker) started 1.12.2015
knnils@ethz.ch
+41 44 633 8951
NW B 86
Clausiusstrasse 25
CH-8092 Zurich

Senior Researchers (Oberassistenten)

pp_ebigbo_70x70
Dr. Anozie Ebigbo
started 1.8.2016
ebigboa@ethz.ch
Subsurface multiphase flow and transport
NO F 57
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 0813

Dr. Xiang-Zhao Kong
started 1.1.2015
xkong@ethz.ch
Flow and transport in subsurface
NO F 57
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 5586

allan_leal_70x70
Dr. Allan Leal
started 1.9.2015
allanmo@ethz.ch
Numerical methods for geochemical and reactive transport modeling
NO F 57
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 44 633 2521

Dr. Xiaodong Ma
xiama@ethz.ch
Senior Research Assistant with the SCCER-SoE, associated with the GEG Group
NO F 27
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 44 633 8175

friedemann_picture_70x70
Dr. Friedemann Samrock
started 1.3.2015
fsamrock@ethz.ch
Geothermal Exploration, Magnetotellurics
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 8903

Postdocs

Dr. Benjamin Adams
started 1.1.2018
badams@ethz.ch
carbon-sequestration,
geothermal energy production
NO F 61
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 2751

Dr. Daniel Birdsell
starting 1.11.2018
ERC Geothermica Heatstore

Dr. Svetlana Matculevich
starting 1.12.2018
Reaktoro as the Chemical Reaction Solver in Shell's Reservoir Simulator

Will be announced soon
starting 1.12.2018
Heat Flow Map Aargau (BFE Project)

daniel_vogler_70x70
Dr. Daniel Vogler
started 1.9.2016
davogler@ethz.ch
Spallation Drilling,
Hydraulic Fracturing
NO F 61
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 2751

Assistants – Postgraduates

Anwar Al Assadi
started 1.10.2018
anwara@ethz.ch
NO F 55
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Maria Cardenas Rivera
started 1.10.2018
maricard@ethz.ch
NO F 55
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Xiaoqing Chen
starting 15.10.2018
chaofan.chen@ufz.de
FSI simulations to compute hydro-mechanically coupled processes in rough fractures
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Joan Delort
started 01.09.2018
delortj@ethz.ch
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Shiyi Li
started 01.09.2018
shiyi.li@gess.ethz.ch
NO F 55
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Visiting Professor

Shemin Ge
starting Summer 2019

Doctoral Students

mehrdad_orig-new_70x70
Mehrdad Ahkami
started 1.11.2016
mahkami@ethz.ch
Fluid flow in porous media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

Ezekiel_picture_70x70
Justin Ezekiel
started 1.9.2016
cezekiel@ethz.ch
CCUS and combined EGR-CPG systems
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Mahmoud Hefny
started 1.9.2018
mhefny@ethz.ch
NO E 17
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich

Powei Huang
started 1.8.2018
Precipitation/dissolution, reactive transport, scaling effects
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

Hoda Javanmard
started 1.2.2018
jhoda@ethz.ch
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

anniina_picture_70x70
Anniina Kittilä
started 1.5.2015
kanniina@ethz.ch
Groundwater flow in fracture-dominated media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

marina lima
Marina Lima
started 1.10.2017
marina.lima@erdw.ethz.ch
Reactive transport in fracture-dominated porous media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

jin_ma_70x70
Jin Ma
started 1.6.2016
majin@ethz.ch
Reactive transport in natural porous media
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Mohamed Ezzat Mostafa
started 1.10.2018
mezzat@ucm.es
Development of a new contact-less drilling method, Plasma-Pulse Geo Drilling (PPGD)
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

Isamu Naets
started 1.9.2018
inaets@erdw.ethz.ch
Fluid and solute transport in fractures and PIV-LIF
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

edoardorossi_70x70
Edoardo Rossi
started 10.10.2016
rossie@ethz.ch
Enhance deep geothermal energy exploitation
NO F 61
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 4710

philipp_shaedle_70x70-png
Philipp Schädle
started 1.2.2016
philscha@ethz.ch
Reactive transport; fractured porous media, reservoir modeling
NO F 51.1
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 2558

Batmagnai Erdenechimeg
starting winter 2018/2019
Geothermal exploration and energy utilization in Mongolia. (SNF R4D)



Visiting Professor

Shemin Ge
starting Summer 2019

Academic Guests

Guodong Cui
started 1.11.2017
cuig@ethz.ch
Read more
NO F 55
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

Zhiqiang LI
started September 2018
zhiqiang.li@sccer-soe.ethz.ch
NO F 27
Sonneggstrasse 5
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 633 4041

alex_hobe_70x70
Alex Hobé
Assistant – postgraduate
Multiphysics modeling of geothermal reservoirs

Former GEG Members and former Visitors

raphael_picture_70x70
Raphael Allstadt
Former assistant – postgraduate
raphaeal@ethz.ch
Master of Science (MSc)
Numerical modelling of two-phase flow in porous media

Ali Aminzadeh
Former Academic Guest

lousa_dambly
Luise Dambly
Former Scientific Assitant – Postgraduate
MSc Idea League
Transversely isotropic rocks

jeffrey_bielicki
Prof. Dr. Jeffrey M. Bielicki
Former visiting professor
bielicki.2@osu.edu
Assistant Professor
The Ohio State University
Energy and environmental systems
renewable energy

claudia_picture_70x70
Claudia Deuber
Former assistant – postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc)

keith_picture_70x70
Dr. Keith Evans
Former senior scientist
kevans@ethz.ch
Scaling of stress variations in deep crystalline rock

raphael_picture_70x70
Faraz Habib
Former assistant – postgraduate

alex_hobe_70x70
Marthe Faber
Former MSc student Idea League 2017/2018
MSc Idea League

nagasree_70x70
Dr. Nagasree Garapati
Former PostDoc
ngarapat@mail.wvu.edu

alex_hobe_70x70
Niko Laaksonlaita
Former MSc student Idea League
MSc Idea League

dandan_li
Dandan Li
Former MSc student Idea League
MSc Idea League

manos_pefkos
Manos Pefkos
Former MSc student Idea League
MSc Idea League 2017/2018

louisa_rodriguez
Susymar Rodriguez
Former assistant – postgraduate
MSc Idea League

neeraj_70x70
Neeraj Shah
Former assistant – postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc)

“anna
Anna van Brummen
Former MSc student Idea League
MSc Idea League 2017/2018


Former GEG Members and former Visitors

raphael_picture_70x70
Raphael Allstadt
raphaeal@ethz.ch
Master of Science (MSc)
Numerical modelling of two-phase flow in porous media
Former assistant – postgraduate

Ali Aminzadeh
Master of Science (MSc)
Former Academic Guest

lousa_dambly
Luise Dambly
Master of Science (MSc)
Former assistant – postgraduate

jeffrey_bielicki
Prof. Dr. Jeffrey M. Bielicki
bielicki.2@osu.edu
Assistant Professor
The Ohio State University
Energy and environmental systems
renewable energy
Former visiting professor

claudia_picture_70x70
Claudia Deuber
Master of Science (MSc)
Former assistant – postgraduate

keith_picture_70x70
Dr. Keith Evans
kevans@ethz.ch
Scaling of stress variations in deep crystalline rock
Former senior scientist

alex_hobe_70x70
Marthe Faber
MSc Idea League
Former MSc student Idea League 2017/2018

nagasree_70x70
Dr. Nagasree Garapati
ngarapat@mail.wvu.edu
Research Assistant Professor
West Virginia University

Former PostDoc

raphael_picture_70x70
Faraz Habib
Former assistant – postgraduate

alex_hobe_70x70
Niko Laaksonlaita
MSc Idea League
Former MSc student Idea League

dandan_li
Dandan Li
MSc Idea League
Former MSc student Idea League

manos_pefkos
Manos Pefkos
MSc Idea League
Former MSc student Idea League 2017/2018

louisa_rodriguez
Susymar Rodriguez
MSc Idea League
Former assistant – postgraduate

neeraj_70x70
Neeraj Shah
Master of Science (MSc)
Former assistant – postgraduate

“anna
Anna van Brummen
MSc Idea League
Former MSc student Idea League 2017/2018